University of Wisconsin–Madison

About Us

Work with Us

The Center for the First-Year Experience (CFYE) helps incoming students adjust to life at UW-Madison, while educating faculty and staff on ways to connect with first-year students.

We hire undergraduate students, instructors, and professional staff members to to help new students transition to UW-Madison and find their place on campus.

Professional Staff

Katie Cummings

Coordinator, Communication

katie.cummings@wisc.edu

(608) 890-4529

Heather Ferguson

Coordinator, Orientation Operations

heather.ferguson@wisc.edu

(608) 265-3264

Aaric Guerriero

Program Director, Inclusion Education

aaric.guerriero@wisc.edu

(608) 262-9067

Tristen Johnson

Coordinator, Our Wisconsin

tristen.johnson@wisc.edu

(608) 265-1043

Shelby Knuth

Coordinator, Transfer Transition

shelby.knuth@wisc.edu

(608) 890-4525

Carren Martin

Director/Assistant Dean

carren.martin@wisc.edu

(608) 263-0363

Tracy Mores

Assistant Director, Transfer Initiatives

tracy.mores@wisc.edu

(608) 890-1649

Carol Pope

Office Manager

carol.pope@wisc.edu

(608) 263-6951

Tessa Smith

Coordinator, Academic Engagement

tessa.smith@wisc.edu

(608) 265-3265

Chris Verhaeghe

Assistant Director, Orientation Initiatives

chris.verhaeghe@wisc.edu

(608) 263-0369

Student Interns

Vivian Burnette

Co-Director, Greater University Tutoring Service (Graduate Student)

Candice Cardoza

Graduate Intern

Nancy Herrera

Co-Director, Greater University Tutoring Service (Graduate Student)

Darby Hoffman

Communications Intern

Fiona Hou

Communications Intern

Kali Kinziger

Academic Initiatives Intern