University of Wisconsin–Madison

About Us

Work with Us

The Center for the First-Year Experience (CFYE) helps incoming students adjust to life at UW-Madison, while educating faculty and staff on ways to connect with first-year students.

We hire undergraduate students, instructors, and professional staff members to to help new students transition to UW-Madison and find their place on campus.

Our Professional Staff

Kevin Clarke

Assistant Director, Academic Engagement

kevin.clarke@wisc.edu

(608) 265-3079

Katie Cummings

Coordinator, Communication

katie.cummings@wisc.edu

608-890-4529

Heather Ferguson

Coordinator, Orientation Operations

heather.ferguson@wisc.edu

(608) 265-3264

Chika Kusakawa

Coordinator, Orientation Programming

kusakawa@wisc.edu

(608) 263-3067

Carren Martin

Director/Assistant Dean

carren.martin@wisc.edu

(608) 263-0363

Tracy Mores

Assistant Director, Transfer Initiatives

tracy.mores@wisc.edu

(608) 890-1649

Carol Pope

Office Manager

carol.pope@wisc.edu

(608) 263-6951

Chris Verhaeghe

Assistant Director, Orientation Initiatives

chris.verhaeghe@wisc.edu

(608) 263-0369

Our Student Interns

Vivian Burnette

Co-Director, Greater University Tutoring Service (Graduate Student)

Joe Christensen

SOAR Programming Intern

Darby Hoffman

Communications Intern

Fiona Hou

Communications Intern

Kali Kinziger

Academic Initiatives Intern

Jack Lindenberg

SOAR Programming Intern

Kyle Martinez

SOAR Operations Intern

Kate McNally

SOAR Operations Intern

Kaia Palm-Leis

SOAR Programming Intern

Sydney Rosengarten

Transfer Transition Intern

Evan Warwick

SOAR Programming Intern

Meet the CFYE Interns

The interns at CFYE have the opportunity to work directly with first-year students to improve their time at UW-Madison.

Watch this video to get to know our student interns at CFYE and hear their insights for first-year students.